Women’s T20 World Cup: Aussies right on the Mooney!

Australia won the Women’s T20 World Cup for the sixth time when they beat South Africa by 19 runs in the final at Newlands on Sunday. Opening batter Beth Mooney anchored the Australian innings, scoring an unbeaten 74 in a total of 156 for six. South Africa were never up with the required run rate and were restricted to 137 for six despite opener Laura Wolvaardt hitting 61 off 48 balls. Wolvaardt and semi-final star Tazmin Brits struggled to find gaps in the field and scored only 17 runs before Brits was caught at mid-on off Darcie Brown off the last ball of the fifth over.

Australia players celebrate after winning the T20 World Cup final

Marizanne Kapp hit two boundaries but was out for 11 and South Africa captain Sune Luus was run out for two. At that stage the home side needed another 103 runs off 56 balls. Wolvaardt and the hard-hitting Chloe Tryon gave a near-capacity crowd of about 15,000 hope with an attacking fourth wicket partnership of 55 off 37 balls, but the match was effectively over when Wolvaardt was leg before wicket to Megan Schutt in the 17th over.

Also read: Women`s T20 World Cup final: `Invincible` Australia stand between South Africa and their fairytale

The left-handed Mooney played a measured innings, scoring her 74 runs off 53 balls while a succession of partners batted aggressively. Ash Gardner and Grace Harris both batted ahead of captain Meg Lanning and appeared to be under instructions to go for their shots. South Africa’s bowlers performed steadily and were backed up by enthusiastic fielding. Stalwarts Shabnim Ismail and Kapp both took two wickets each. But Australia showed their quality in defending their total with athleticism and commitment that put the South African batters under constant pressure.

Brief scores

Australia 156-6 in 20 overs (B Mooney 74*, A Gardner 29; S Ismail 2-26, M Kapp 2-35) beat SA 137-6 in 20 overs (L Wolvaardt 61, C Tryon 25; A Gardner 1-20, J Jonassen 1-21, D Brown 1-25) by 19 runs

No of Women’s T20 World Cup titles won by Australia

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button